Caring Nannies

Job Openings

October 1, 2020 Job Openings By Jenny No Comments

NEW PART-TIME 2 DAY/WEEK (MON & WED) NANNY POSITION IN CHANDLER , $18-$22/hr

NEW PART-TIME 2 DAY/WEEK (MON & WED) NANNY POSITION IN CHANDLER , $18-$22/hr
Riggs & McQueen:  This busy family with 2 boys (9 yrs old & 6 yrs old) are seeking a nanny 2 days/weeks, typically Mondays & Wednesdays, for a split shift schedule from 5:30am-8:30am and 2:30pm-7PM. They have a casual atmosphere in their home and no adults are home during the day so the nanny is welcome to go back to their home and study or utilize their home for personal use instead of returning to the nanny’s home if desired.  The family is desiring a nanny who is kind and patient but also knows how to hold boundaries and be the adult. It is VERY important to help children get schoolwork done each day and stick to home/school/meal routine. Education level isn’t as important as maturity/responsibility level. Ideal nanny is punctual, consistent, and warm with children. Their 9 year old son has an anxiety disorder (well managed, just needs someone kind and patient).  He is very much a rule follower, a very literal black and white type child, sees things 100% right or 100% wrong, tends to be relatively quiet and introverted, is incredibly bright and does better with someone who is kind and compassionate and patient with him.  Their kids are described as very different kids and Mom says that is the tricky part when caring for them. Their 6 year old boy is more of an extrovert, doesn’t see things in black and white, needs more boundaries, needs supervision to get homework done, is phenomenally well-behaved in school, a class leader, and is the kind of child where he doesn’t have the emotional maturity. He  just says it how it is, and it would be a power struggle with someone who is not soft yet firm. They are wonderful kids, incredibly sweet, kind, good, and because it’s just the 3 of them with Mom being a single Mom, they strive to stay on routine.  The boys do well with structure and there’s a schedule written out.  Mom is very organized and wants to set up the nanny for success in the home. The boys need to know what their expectations are, and they need a nanny to not be a dictator.  They are easy with no violent outbursts. They were struggling with online schooling and really need a nanny who has the desire to focus on schooling and homework with them. They have both returned to in-person school, therefore the before and after school schedule is needed.  The nanny’s schedule is 7 1/2 hrs for 2 days a week (Mondays and Wednesdays) with the split shift schedule of 5:30-8:30AM and 2:30PM-7PM for a total of 15 hrs a week. Typically the days will remain the same, Mondays and Wednesdays, and it’s pretty rare if there will be a changing of days (if Monday was a holiday, for example), but Mom knows her schedule 4 weeks in advance.   The 9 year old is in the 4th grade gifted program and has 5th grade math and reading. The 6 year old is in 1st grade, and has a tutor for reading once a week.  The nanny would arrive at 5:30AM to get them up, dressed, fed, and ready for school and they are dropped off by 8:25AM when the bell rings.  The Chandler Unified School District is phasing the grades back in.  They anticipate them staying in school. Their extra curricular activities are on hold right now. The 6 year old used to do gymnastics, and he may or may not go back. The 9 year old is in football and it will start in mid-October, however he injured his thumb and is in a cast so it is still unknown if he is able to play football.  If so it will be football practice, from 5-6 on Wed afternoons from less than a mile from the house.  They are both involved in Cub Scouts right now and are virtual on the computer.  Cub Scouts may return to in-person in late November to early Dec. The oldest son has asthma. They are more of a shelter in place type family. Mom works in healthcare,  and takes extreme caution with full garb and is completely covered.  Nanny must take precautions to keep herself healthy and social distancing. The kids are doing a phenomenal job about wearing masks and washing hands.  The oldest is very nervous/ anxious about getting sick. Mom is needing an extension of herself. The number 1 priority is making sure they get their homework done.  After school, they need to be given a snack, have downtime and then complete their homework. Sticking to a schedule is crucial, as well as being punctual, and always on time with day to day activities. In regards to light household duties: helping the kids make the beds in the am, taking their clothes to the hamper, tidying up the boys’ bathroom, the house is relatively tidy so just keep everything tidy and in its place, dishes in dishwasher, lunch boxes out of backpacks at the end of the school day, freezer packs in the freezer, etc. The boys are picked up after school at 3PM but with Covid, they want everyone picking up the students in the pick up line so Mom would prefer that the nanny get in line at 2:30 and be in the beginning of the line. The family will also need a nanny who is comfortable taking children to after-school activities. Driving to school, to home, and to extracurricular activities, (if scheduled), is needed. No car is provided but mileage is reimbursed. Average mileage is less than 10 miles/day, sometimes 20 miles with activities. A nanny who is attentive and will kick the soccer ball around in the green belt with the boys would be a great fit for this family. Position starts mid-October.  Compensation:  $18-$22/hr.  15 hrs/week.  Interviewing now. (REF#MWEV)

 

**To apply for this position or to inquire about more details, please email jenny@acaringnanny.com and use REF#MWEV in the title**

Share this post

No Comments